Claudia Osmond ~ Reader, Writer, and Ruminator

People Are People

In ruminating, writing on June 22, 2013 at 7:57 pm

You know that moment in your writing day when you have the intense urge to go clean your bathtub because it’s easier than writing the scene you’re waist-deep in the middle of? Yeah. That was me about ten minutes ago. Make that thirty – including the time it took to clean the tub and write this post.

The funny thing about cleaning the tub mid-scene isn’t that you get all sweaty and come away smelling like Comet – because that isn’t funny. The funny thing is that when you abruptly take your head out of writing mode and flick the extreme-switch on to thinking about nothing while doing a mundane task, that’s when you get fresh ideas.

The only problem is these fresh ideas, for me anyhow, rarely have anything to do with what I was writing before kneeling tubside. The fresh idea for today was this blog post. Not sure why. I haven’t posted in ages. And wasn’t planning on doing so for ages to come.

But since we’re both here, let me share with you what came to mind today as I was elbow-deep in turquoise tub cleanser. I’ve packaged it up neatly in a cellophane and ribbon earworm for you. You’re welcome, in advance.

 

People are people so why should it be

You and I should get along so awfully

People are people so why should it be

You and I should get along so awfully

I can’t understand

What makes a man

Hate another man

Help me understand

 

This song by Depeche Mode goes through my head often, and not only when I’m cleaning the tub. There are a couple of reasons why it does, I’ve figured out, and one of the reasons is because I see so much virtual fist-swinging online. The minute – the second – someone doesn’t agree with someone else, the fingerless typing gloves come out. WHAM! Instant comment. In our instant culture of instant social media you can instantly say what you’re instantly thinking. That’s a scary thing.

People are people so why should it be

You and I should get along so awfully

I’m all for sharing and posting and instagramming and videoing. I’m rather fascinated by the immediacy of it all, actually. I’m also all for freedom of speech and expressing what you think. I’m all for being an individual and using your own colors and words and being free from pressure to conform. I’m all for ALL of that. But I’m also all for respect and courtesy and consideration. And modesty. And self-control. Kindness and patience and grace. All of these things take thought. And reflection. They aren’t instant. They take time to travel from our head. And heart.

How to reconcile the latter with the former … In real life as well as online.

People are people so why should it be

You and I should get along so awfully

I am one of the people who are people. And I write about people who are people. Because of this, my current manuscript features a gay character. His scene is the one I sought a diversion from. His scene is the one my tub saved me from. And he is the other reason Depeche Mode often resides in my mind.

I can’t understand

What makes a man

Hate another man

Hate is a strong word. Not everybody hates. Not even everybody who has different opinions or beliefs than someone else hates the person they differ with (though that is often a common assumption, for some reason.) But it’s evident the person in this song really was hated on. And my main character’s gay uncle can probably relate.

Help me understand

People are people. Online and off. And in print.

I’ve been asked:

“Why does he have to be gay?”

Because he is. Because people are people.

I’ve been asked:

“Don’t you think that’s too much for a middle grade book?”

No. Because people are people.

I’ve been asked:

“Are you trying to prove something?”

Yes. That people are people.

I write about people who are people. I write about how people treat and are treated. I write about how people cope and respond and live their lives. I try to write with respect and courtesy and consideration, words that are filled with humility and grace and thoughtful reflection. And I write so that I, and others, may understand.

Leave a Reply

