Claudia Osmond ~ Reader, Writer, and Ruminator

50,000 Words or Bust

In ruminating, writing on November 30, 2010 at 5:26 pm

BUST.

Yeah, so today’s the last day for NaNoWriMo and I didn’t end up crossing the finish line. Actually, I didn’t even make it to the half-way point.

I was doing great until November closed in on us; until our home renos took over our lives due to a strict self-imposed deadline. Until I started a new job that’s been making my head explode with unfamiliar information every day, all day. And until I realized my husband, Jon, had to finish his Greek course and write the final exam by today.

And, well, considering I’m having the torkidlit group over next Wed night (a.k.a. self-imposed deadline) the renos kinda had to get done. Like, now. And considering I must fill my available brain space with new procedures and policies and lists and appointments and requisitions and the names of 90+ residents and, and, and, I’ve kinda had to use all my brain power and energy to do that. Like, now. And considering it would have been a bad thing for Jon to fail his course on account of him doing all the cooking and laundry and cleaning and chauferring and, and, and, while I was using what little spare time we have to write, I kinda decided that him finishing his course and passing his final exam today was more important than me finishing my manuscript.

So, for this year NaNo is a bust. But I DO have almost 20,000 words of a new manuscript that I’m so excited about getting back to, maybe once the major renos are done. And maybe once I’m settled into my new job to the point where I’m not going cross-eyed and my brain has stopped bleeding out of my ears. And maybe once Jon has eased his way out of trying to translate everything into Greek so I can understand him again and we can resume normal communications. Maybe once all these things have happened, then I’ll be able to pick up and finish the first draft of my darling new wip.

The phases and stages of life…

Even though I’m not able to cross the 50,000 word finish line today, I don’t feel like I’ve lost the race. I just feel like I’ve taken the scenic road instead.

  1. Hang in there. I think you still achieved what Nano is supposed to be about, to see about a new project and find out if you ARE in love–yay that you are. Life is FULL, and you’re doing a great job of juggling it!

  2. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Becky is right, you gave it a try and STARTED. That’s the whole point of NaNo. You do what you have to do, and when you’re ready to come back to it, your manuscript will be waiting. And in the meantime: congratulations on starting and getting almost 20,000 words in!

Leave a Reply

