Claudia Osmond ~ Reader, Writer, and Ruminator

If I don’t laugh I’ll …

In ruminating on November 23, 2010 at 10:14 am

I’ve got this sticker on my computer. And just like these two little imps stir up the dust in THE CAT IN THE HAT, I put it there to help shift my perspective at times. It’s there to remind me not to take myself too seriously; to remember to resurrect the joy that’s buried within the task at hand. It reminds me to take it in stride when I get stressed over a stubborn plot point (or the fact that I’m failing miserably at coming anywhere close to my nano goal). Also, Thing 2 is a great ego-booster when I do write something funny! Well, something that he and I find funny, anyway.

Life can get overwhelming at times. And for when it does, it’s good to have a few little pick-me-uppers scattered around in strategic places. Like the well-known phrase goes: If I don’t laugh, I’ll (insert undesireable outcome of your choice).

Sometimes laughter is just quite simply the best alternative.

  1. I need help remembering to resurrect the joy buried in the task at hand sometimes, too; maybe I should get a sticker of my own!

    Thanks for this.

Leave a Reply

