Claudia Osmond ~ Reader, Writer, and Ruminator

So you mean transparency IS a good thing? And, Yay! I won!

In writing blogs on October 15, 2010 at 2:02 pm

I discovered this morning that I’ve been honored with a blogger’s award. The Honest Scrap Award, to be exact. And it was passed on to me by author and blogger, Becky Levine. It’s the kind of award that gets passed on from blogger to blogger based on certain criteria; the criteria being this:

The Honest Scrap Award:

This award is about bloggers who post from their heart, who often times put their heart on display as they write from the depths of their soul. This means so much to me as that is the root reason of why and what I write about. I believe writing is your heart without a mask. My writing, whether it be a blog post, a poem, a piece of prose or a WIP is the truest part of my soul. To me writing is about honesty and truth-seeking. There is the saying that the pen is more powerful than the sword. I believe that writing is a way to challenge people and to speak often times for those who cannot speak.

I do truly feel good about receiving this award. Not only because it’s my first ever blogger’s award, (yay! :)) but because many times after writing blog posts I sit back and think, “Maybe I shouldn’t have written that.” And it’s good to know that, yes, I should have.

So, thanks, Becky, for passing this award on to me. I appreciate it.

Now, this award does come with some homework. Firstly, I must now think of other bloggers to pass it on to who I think meet the above criteria. Not sure if award-backs are allowed, but I most definitely would like to present the award back to Becky. Her posts are truly refreshing, deeply empathetic, and most times lol funny! But since I don’t think that’s really allowed, you can all just know that she’s secretly included in the following list, typed in invisible ink.

After giving it much thought, here are my choices for the recipients of the Honest Scrap Award:

1. Bound by the Word Blog, Noelle Bickle 

2. Writing in Black and White, Jodi Cleghorn

3. Finding the Courage to Create, One Word at a Time, Susan Taylor Brown

These women all write from the heart and aren’t afraid to admit the writing life isn’t all candy-floss and jelly-beans. Thanks for the great posts, Noelle, Jodi, and Susan!

Secondly, each recipient must share 10 honest things about themselves. As if blogging your inner-life isn’t enough. Sheesh. 😉 So … here are 10 honest things about me:

1. I constantly struggle with my inner-critic, sometimes to the point of my writing becoming paralyzed for months at a time.

2. I love curry but hate bamboo shoots. I HATE bamboo shoots. *shiver*

3. I lied to my husband, and avid mountain biker, for about 10 years, telling him that I enjoyed cycling. I hate it. And finally admitted it. I just couldn’t do it any longer.

4. My deepest desire is to help abolish modern-day slavery, but I sometimes feel like giving up. I mean, really, the task is so enormous, isn’t it?

5. I’m somewhat claustrophobic. When I’m in a small space, I’m very claustrophobic.

6. I tend to be a bit like Aunt Josephine in A Series of Unfortunate Events. I can’t help but always think about all the horrible things that COULD happen. My husband always laughs at me. Until someone loses an eye.

7. I’m an introvert who enjoys being with people. Don’t even ask me to explain that one. I can’t.

8. I have a deep and profound fascination with trees. I LOVE trees. Especially weeping willows.

9. My dream job would involve archaeology. I drool at the thought of discovering and then uncovering artifacts and glimpses of ancient civilizations.

10. I can see into the future.

11. Sometimes I’m not completely honest and I often tend to break rules.

So, there you have it. I’ll be looking forward to seeing where this award goes from here.

  1. Love your list! I had my husband thinking I would go off with him to backpack through the heights of Tibet. And, you know, I really thought I would. It’s just that he’s so hard to keep UP with! 🙂

    And, yes, there’s always that eye-out.

  2. Oh Claudia, how I love thee.
    Thank you for the nod, that made my day. Scratch that, it made my week. And motivated me to get my butt back in the editing chair to draft 13. The seat is cold, and it’s well overdue, so thanks for the motivator. IOU.
    I have to add that your honest answer 6 (until someone loses an eye) had me shooting milk out my nose. No lie.
    By the way, I’m an extrovert who enjoys being alone. Go figure. Together we make the perfect human being.
    I`m off to my blog to pen my own 10 honest answers. 🙂
    Noelle

Leave a Reply

