Claudia Osmond ~ Reader, Writer, and Ruminator

Is it just the way we do it now?

In a peek inside my head on October 6, 2010 at 12:08 pm

This whole social media scene intrigues me. Why do people do it? Why do I do it? People have gotten on just fine for millenia without it by actually sharing their lives around tables, in living rooms, in pubs, with real people in real time. Why the sudden appeal of joining online communities? Is it just the way we do it now? Is it just the way we’re evolving socially?

I’ve heard and read comments, many times, (uh, mostly on facebook and twitter) about how people are so involved in their online communities they barely have time for or remember the names/contact info of the “real” people in their lives. Now, I’m assuming they’re joking, but is there some truth to that? Is this becoming a trend?  

This blog topic was actually inspired by Becky Levine’s post on “Unclogging a Piece of Social Networking”. In it she expresses how social media can actually start to bog you down. How there are times when one should assess which sites are best and which sites are best left out.

It got me thinking … What is the overall worth of such sites in my life?

So, jumping off from Becky’s conversation, let me ask you this: What social networking platforms have you found to be most enriching to your life? By asking that I’d like you to step away from answering in terms of commercial value, like, if you have a business and it’s doing better since joining LinkedIn. Or if you’re an author and you’ve sold more books since joining Goodreads. If that’s true, then that’s great. But what I’d like to know is, are there any social media platforms out there that have actually helped you connect with people in really meaningful ways. Have you met people through social media who have supported you, encouraged you, helped you, laughed with you; have truly become people you call friends? Have you met people through social media who have helped you develop your craft; expanded your knowledge and passion in a field of interest; facilitated a venue for your artistic expression; assisted you in finding the help you needed; provided the boost you needed to keep you from giving up something important to you?

If yes, would you share an example?

If no, is this something you’d like to get out of social media at some point? Or would you prefer to keep your social media contacts at a professional level?

  1. It’s been kind of an evolution for me. I started out with LiveJournal, which has a great community of kidlit bloggers & I feel very connected to some of the people I met out there. I moved to WordPress & still love blogging, but do miss, occasionally, that tight thread of the kidlit community.

    After that, I’d say Facebook makes me happiest. 🙂 I like the threaded conversations, where you can actually see EASILY what other people are saying & go back and forth with the commenters as well as the original posters. It’s my real comfort place, I’d say.

    • So THAT’s why so many authors are on LiveJournal! Huh.

      I’m with you – I like threads where you can see everyone’s input. It feels more like a conversation, rather than random thoughts, that way.

Leave a Reply

