Claudia Osmond ~ Reader, Writer, and Ruminator

The earthy inspiration of tea

In creativity, tea, the Creator on March 6, 2009 at 11:26 am

If you’re anything like me, you’ll appreciate a good, hot mug of tea. Oh, I love my coffee, no doubt about that. But tea… that’s where the magic is.

Ever try Twig Tea? Or Rooibos? Or Yerba Mate? How about Gen Mai Cha Green Tea with Brown Rice? Ooooo… exotic. I like my tea to be earthy, as opposed to fruity or florally, so when I discovered the twig tea and the one with brown rice, I fell for them immediately. Strange, you think? Don’t fancy the idea of steeping twigs in your cup? Don’t knock it til you try it!

So, why the heck am I talking about earthy-flavored tea, anyway? Well, besides the fact I’m brewing a mug of gen mai cha with brown rice as I blog and thought I’d share that with you, tea is my writing drink. There’s something about drinking tea while clacking away on my keyboard that connects me with what I’m doing. Maybe it’s the earthiness of the aromas and flavors that inspire the earthiness of the themes I’m writing about. Maybe it’s that tea is part of creation and the way it pleases my senses is a way that connects me with the Creator; like songs sometimes do. Hmm… maybe…

Or, maybe it’s just a habit.

Whatever it is, it’s part of my writing “thing”. And it helps draw the creativity out of my soul that was put there by the Creator.

I lift my mug to him. I’m glad he’s so resourceful.

“Everything that one turns in the direction of God is prayer.” -Ignatius of Loyola

Leave a comment