Claudia Osmond ~ Reader, Writer, and Ruminator

Twit, twit, twit!

In twits on February 28, 2009 at 10:38 pm

So glad I’m not the only person who still uses the term “twit”. In Neil Gaiman‘s latest blog post he uses that very word.

When I use the word “twit” – oh, say, like when someone cuts me off while they’re merging into traffic and I’ve got the right of way, for instance – my kids look at me like I’ve grown an extra ear out of my forehead. “What did you call him?” they ask.

I bet no one who read Neil Gaiman’s post said that. They probably just said, “Yeah, you’re right. What a twit.” Like I did.

Or, maybe they didn’t. Maybe it’s a generational thing. Maybe saying “twit” is like wearing leg-warmers, converse sneakers, and your pants tucked into your boots. Maybe saying “twit” won’t be trendy til next month.

Maybe I’m just making a big deal about nothing.

Either way, I’m just glad I’m not the only person who still uses the term “twit”.

And when I do hear a leg-warmer and converse-sneaker-wearing kid say it on the street, I’ll just smile to myself, knowing that term is soooo yesterday.

Leave a Reply

